G4SH: Compassion and an Open Heart

I remember the day very well. It was at 10:10 am, on January 8, 2011 at a Safeway supermarket in the La Toscana Village mall in Tuscon, Arizona. The US Representative Gabrielle Giffords was giving a constituent meeting when suddenly shots rang out. On that day, Giffords was critically wounded by gunman Jared Lee Loughner. Eighteen people were also wounded that day, and sadly, six people lost their lives.

Among the lost was nine year old Christina Taylor-Green, a child who had been born on September 11, 2001.

It was a scene that I had seen one too many times on television, but what struck me the most was that such a tragedy that was now being seen by the entire world had just taken place in my home state. I found myself quoting an often heard verse that had been repeating by others during similar tragedies: “I never thought this would happen here.”

Like with other incidents that came before the Tuscon shooting, the reaction among the public and experts brought on the same arguement that I had heard time and time again. Why did this happen? Who would commit such a terrible crime? What made him do it? The list of reasons was long and thought-provoking, and just like with past incidents, the subject of violent video games was thrust into discussion.

For me, the argument that violent video games produce violent people was something that I had heard so many times. As an avid gamer, I felt that the voices of others such of myself were being misunderstood. That the people who play violent video games lacked empathy. A statement that I found not just untrue but hurtful as well.

I joined Gamers for Sandy Hook for one purpose: help. Simply, help. In whatever shape or form that maybe. Whether it is organizing a prize giveaway on Skype or to give whatever change I have in my pocket to someone who needs. I believe that kindness, compassion and love outlives any evil. It is a mantra I swear by. I saw so much compassion given to the people of Sandy Hook by complete strangers. Complete strangers unite together to help one another. I felt so inspired by that magnitude of it all that I had to do something.

That’s why I joined G4SH. I joined so that I could do my small part in bringing back some of the good in the world that we tend to forget sometimes.

Leave a Reply

